Minimum Wage Across The United States Varies by City and State

Federal minimum wage has held steady at $7.25 since 2009.

However, across the United States, individual states and cities have enacted higher local minimum wage laws and ordinances.

Furthermore, many of those wages increase on January 1, 2018. This article covers all minimum wage changes that occur in 2018 and is organized alphabetically by state.

Understanding Minimum Cash Wages

Minimum cash wages refer to the employer’s portion of the minimum wage that employees must be paid.

According to federal law, tipped employees must still make $7.25 an hour, but as much as $5.12 of their minimum wage can be earned through tips.

However, even if an employee makes more than $5.12 an hour in tips, only $5.12 can be counted toward their minimum wages. This means that the minimum cash wage that an employer must pay is $2.13. It is important to note that it’s a minimum, not maximum cash wage.

If the employee does not earn at least $5.12 in tips per hour, the employer must make up the rest of their wages to ensure that their minimum wage is at least $7.25. Many states also have a minimum cash wage that is used in the same way.

Skip to your state here: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Washington D.C., Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, or Washington.

Alaska Minimum Wage Changes

Minimum wage in the Last Frontier is currently set at $9.80.

It increases to $9.85 on January 1, 2018.

Alaska doesn’t allow tip credit to count toward the minimum wage required for tipped employees and current requirements aren’t changing.

Arizona Minimum Wage Changes

Minimum wage in the Copper State rises 50 cents and goes from $10.00 an hour to $10.50 an hour.

Minimum Cash wage also increases on Jan. 1 and goes from $7.00 to $7.50 an hour. The maximum tip credit stays the same at $3.00 an hour.

Flagstaff’s minimum wage increases to $11.00 an hour, from $10.50 in 2017. Likewise, the minimum cash wage increases to $8.00 an hour.

California Minimum Wage Changes

The Golden State has more local minimum wage laws than any other state. This makes it difficult and time consuming for employers to track.

Statewide, minimum wage increases based on the size of the employer. Small employers are those who have 25 or less employees, while large employers have more than 25 employees.

On Jan. 1, minimum wage for employees of large employers, increases from $10.50 to $11.00. Small employers must pay their employees a minimum wage of $10.50.

Berkeley’s local minimum wage updates on October 1, 2018. It raises from $13.75 to $15.00. Employers who work with youth works & job training must increase the minimum wage paid from $12.00 to $13.25.

Cupertino’s minimum wage increase January 1, 2018. It goes up $1.50 from $12.00 to $13.50.

El Cerrito’s minimum wage also changes on January 1st. In 2017, it was $12.25 and in 2018, it will be $13.60. These is no change in minimum cash wage.

Emeryville’s minimum wage changes July 1st. Large employers are considered businesses with at least 56 or more employees. Small employers have 55 or fewer employees.

The minimum wage will go from its current wage of $15.20 for large employers to an amount that will be determined early in 2018 by the Consumer Price Index (CPI).

Small business minimum wage will go from $14.00 to $15.00.

Los Altos’ minimum wage moves from $12 an hour to $13.50 an hour on Jan. 1, 2018.

Los Angeles City minimum wage is determined by the size of the employer.

Small businesses are those who have 25 or fewer employees, while large businesses have 26 or more employees. On July 1, 2018 small businesses will have to pay a new minimum wage of $12.00 The current minimum wage is $10.50.

Big businesses will have their minimum wage increase from $12.00 to $13.25 an hour.

Los Angeles County (Unincorporated) also changes minimum wage. The employee split is between 25 and 26 employees for small and large employers.

Large employers will see their minimum wage requirements go from $12.00 to $13.25.

Small employer’s minimum wage moves from $10.50 to $12.00 an hour. Both wages increase on July 1, 2018.

Maibu’s minimum wage moves from $12.00 to $13.25 for big businesses. It moves from $10.50 to $12.00.

The split between small and large employers occurs between 25 and 26 employees. All employees count as a full employee, even if temporary.

Milpitas’ minimum wage moves two times in 2018. In January 1st it moves from $11.00 to $12.00. On July 1st, it moves again to $13.50.

Mountain View’s minimum wage goes to $15.00 an hour on January 1, 2018. It has been $13.00 through 2017.

Oakland’s Minimum Wage is currently at $12.86. It changes based on the CPI and is estimated to be around $13.23. It changes on January 1, 2018.

Palo Alto’s Minimum wage moves on Jan 1, 2018 from $12.00 to $13.50.

Pasadena’s minimum wages change on July 1, 2018.

The required wage depends on the size of the employer, with small employers considered those with 25 or fewer employees.

Large employers must pay at least $13.25. It is $12.00 until the end of June.

Small employers will see minimum wages move from $10.50 to $12.00 in July.

Richmond’s minimum wage changes on January 1, 2018.

Unlike many of California’s other cities, who split minimum wage requirements based on the employer’s size, Richmond looks at whether the employee receives benefits or not.

Employers who don’t receive benefits currently receive a minimum wage of $12.30. In January, they must start earning at least $13.41.

Employees who do receive benefits will see their minimum wage go from $10.80 to $11.91.

San Francisco will see minimum wage raise on July 1, 2018. Minimum wage will move from its current wage of $14.00 an hour to $15.00 an hour.

San Jose’s minimum wage law changes on Jan. 1, 2018.  It raises from $12.00 to $13.50 an hour. The minimum wage for youth training programs is still going to be determined.

San Leandro’s required wage goes up on July 1, 2018. I moves up $1 from $12.00 to $13.00.

San Mateo’s minimum wage is split between for profit and nonprofit companies. For profit minimum wage moves from $12.50 to $13.00 an hour.

The nonprofit employee minimum wage raises from $10.50 to $12.00 an hour. Both wages increase on Jan 1, 2018.

Santa Clara’s minimum wage also changes on January 1st. It moves from $11.10 to $13.00.

Santa Monica minimum wage law is divided into a wage for small business and large business. The split occurs between 25 and 26 employees.

Small employers must pay $12.00 on July 1, 2018. This is up from the current wage of $10.50.

Large employers must also pay more. It goes up from $12.00 to $13.25.

Sunnyvale’s minimum wage increases on January 1st. It goes up from $13.00 to $15.00.

Colorado Minimum Wage Changes

Minimum wage in the Centennial State raises on January 1st. Currently the minimum wage is set at $9.30.

It will increase $0.90 to $10.20.

The minimum cash wage will also increase from $6.28 to $7.18. The maximum tip credit remains at $3.02.

District of Columbia Minimum Wage Changes

Employees in Washington D.C. will see a minimum wage pay raise on July 1, 2018.

The rate will raise from $12.50 to $13.25. Tip credit for cash employees goes up from $9.17 to $9.36.

That means that the minimum cash rate will go from $3.33 to $3.89. Minimum cash rate can be figured by calculating minimum rate $13.25 minus the cash credit of $9.36 = $3.89.

Florida Minimum Wage Changes

Minimum wage in the Sunshine State changes very little on January 1st.

It moves from $8.10 to $8.25.

The maximum tip credit stays at $3.02. That means that the minimum cash wage raises from $5.08 to $5.23.

Hawaii Minimum Wage Changes

Employees in Paradise will see a minimum wage increase on January 1, 2018.

The wage will increase from its current wage of $9.25 to a new rate of $10.10. The maximum tip credit remains the same at $0.75.

That means that the minimum cash wage moves from $8.50 to $9.35.

Illinois Minimum Wage Changes

The Prairie state doesn’t see a statewide minimum wage increase in 2018. However, two local jurisdictions do see minimum wage increases.

Chicago minimum wage ordinance increase the local minimum wage on July 1, 2018. The wage will go from $11.00 to $12.00. In 2017 the minimum cash wage was $6.10, but the minimum cash wage in 2018 is still being determined and will be announced in early 2018. The minimum tip credit is $4.90.

Cook County (outside of Chicago city limits) also sees an increase in minimum wage. The wage will increase on July 1st and will raise from $10.00 to $11.00. The minimum cash wage is currently $4.95 and will be determined. The maximum tip credit is $5.05.

Maine Minimum Wage Changes

The Pine Tree State will see a statewide increase on January 1st that will move minimum wage from $9.00 to $10.00.

The maximum tip credit also increases and moves from $4.00 to $5.00. As a result the minimum cash wage remains at $5.00.

Portland City’s minimum wage increases on July 1, 2018. The current minimum wage is $10.68.

The new minimum wage will be based on the CPI and will be released in 2018. The tip credit raises from $5.00 to $5.68.

Maryland Minimum Wage Changes

The Old Line State has a statewide minimum wage change that occurs on July 1, 2018.

The wage will increase from $9.25 to $10.10.

The minimum cash wage stays the same at $3.63 as the maximum tip credit increases from $5.62 to $6.47.

Montgomery County is proposing a change in minimum wage to take effect on July 1, 2018.

Stay tuned to Swipeclock.com/blog for more information.

Michigan Minimum Wage Changes

The Great Lake State sees several changes in minimum wage law on Jan. 1, 2018.

Minimum wage moves from $8.90 to $9.25. The maximum tip credit also changes and moves from $5.52 to 5.73.

Minimum cash wage was $3.38 in 2017 and the new min. cash wage will be $3.52 in 2018.

Minnesota Minimum Wage Changes

Minimum wage in the North Star State updates on Jan. 1, 2018.

The state’s law breaks down small and large businesses by annual gross sales.

Employers with less than $500,000 in annual sales are considered small businesses.

Those with more than $500,000 are considered large businesses.

The minimum wage for small employers will rise from $7.75 to $7.87.

Large employers will see their minimum wage increase from $9.50 to $9.65. There is no changes in cash minimum wages.

Minneapolis also breaks their minimum wage law down by employers, but instead uses an employee count.

Small employers are considered those with 100 or less employees while large employers are considered those with 101 and more employees.

Small employers will see their minimum wage change on July 1st 2018. It will change from the state’s minimum wage of $7.87 in 2018 to $10.25 in July.

Large employers will see two changes in 2018. On January 1st minimum wage will change from the state minimum wage of $7.75 (in 2017) to $10.00.

It will change again for large employers on July 1st 2018 to $11.25. There are no changes to cash minimum wage or tip credit above what state law requires.

Missouri Minimum Wage Changes

The Show Me State will see an increase on January 1, 2018 of minimum wage.

The wage will increase from the 2017 wage of $7.70 to $7.85. The maximum tip credit also increases from $3.85 to $3.925.

That means the minimum cash wage will also adjust from $3.85 in 2017 to $3.935 in 2018.

Montana Minimum Wage Changes

Employees in Big Sky Country will see minimum wage increase from $8.15 to $8.30 on January 1, 2018.

There is no change in minimum wage for cash or tipped employees.

Nevada Minimum Wage Changes

The Silver State’s minimum wages will change on July 1, 2018.

The current wage is $8.15. The new wages will be based on the CPI for 2017 and haven’t yet been determined.

Nevada typically breaks down a minimum wage based on whether or not the employee receives benefits.

New Jersey Minimum Wage Changes

Minimum wage in the Garden State changes on Jan. 1, 2018.

It will move from $8.44 to $8.60.

The maximum tip credit will also move from $6.31 to $6.47.

New Mexico Minimum Wage Changes

State minimum wage laws aren’t changing in the Land of Enchantment.

However, there are several local laws that change city minimum wage requirements.

Currently, the state’s minimum wage is set at $7.50.

Albuquerque breaks the minimum wage into two categories: employees who receive benefits and those that don’t.

The minimum wage changes on January 1, 2018. Employees who don’t receive benefits will see minimum wage go from $8.80 to $8.95.

The maximum tip credit for non-benefit employees will increase and go to $3.60, from $3.50 in 2017.

The minimum cash wage for tipped employees moves from $5.30 to $5.35. Employees who receive benefits will also see their minimum wage increase.

It will move from $7.80 to $7.95. Maximum tip credit will change from $3.50 to $3.60. The minimum cash wage move up $0.05 from $5.30 TO $5.35.

Bernalillo County minimum wage law covers all parts of the county that are unincorporated.

Like Albuquerque, the law also divides employees between those receiving benefits and those who are not. The wage changes on January 1, 2018.

Employees that do not receive benefits will see a $0.15 raise and will go from $8.70 to $8.85.

Employees who do receive benefits will have their minimum wage raised from $7.70 to $7.75.

The maximum tip credit for non-benefit employees increases from $6.57 to $6.72. Benefit employees maximum tip credit rises from $5.57 to $5.72.

The minimum cash wage for benefit and non-benefit employees will remain at $2.13.

Las Cruces’ minimum wage ordinance updates on January 1, 2018. The wage changes from a set minimum wage to a wage set by the Consumer Price Index.

Currently the minimum wage is $9.20 and is estimated to be around $9.45. The maximum tip credit increases from $5.52 and raises to $5.67.

As a result, the minimum cash wage also goes up from $3.68 to an estimate $3.78. The Las Cruces City Council will review the estimated wage increases sometime in December.

Santa Fe Minimum Wage increases on March 1, 2018. It is based on the Consumer Price Index.

The new wage is not yet known, but should be announced in late January or early February. Stay tuned to the SwipeClock blog.

The current minimum wage is $11.09. Maximum tip credit is $8.96 and current minimum cash wage is set at $2.13.

Santa Fe County includes the unincorporated parts of Santa Fe County.

The minimum wage for the county also increases on March 1st. It is expected to be announced in the early part of 2018 after the CPI for 2017 is released.

The current wage is $11.09. The minimum cash wage is $3.32 with a maximum tip credit of $7.77.

New York Minimum Wage Changes

Employers in New York have some of the most complicated minimum wage rules.

The Empire State has 14 different minimum wage laws crossing the state’s various regions and sectors.

Employers in New York must track the wages if they have employees who work in various regions.

New York minimum wage changes on December 31, 2017 and again on December 31, 2018.

Fast Food Workers in New York City have had a minimum wage of $12.00. On December 31, 2017, the minimum wage will increase to $13.50.

On December 31, 2018, it will increase again to $15.00.

Fast Food Workers Outside of New York City are currently paid a minimum wage of $10.75. On December 31, 2017, it will increase to $11.75.

On December 31, 2018, it will increase again to $12.75.

New York City Businesses have two wages that apply. Employers who have 10 or less employees have a current 2017 wage of $10.50.

On December 31, 2017 their wage will go up to $12.00. On December 31, 2018, it will rise again to $13.50.

Large employers, those with 11 or more employees, currently have a minimum wage of $11.00. On December 31st, 2017, it will go up to $13.00.

On December 31, 2018, minimum wage will become $15.00.

Nassau, Suffolk, & Westchester Counties currently have a minimum wage of $10.00. On December 31, 2017, it will go up to $11.00.

It will become $12.00 on December 31, 2018.

Remainder of New York State currently has a minimum wage of $9.70. On December 31, 2018, it will raise to $10.40. It will raise again at the end of 2018 to $11.10.

New York Tipped Employees have possibly the most complex minimum wage.

Under the law if an employee receives less than the low tip amount, then the employer cannot claim any tip credit.

If the employee receives between the low and the high tip amount, then the tip credit cannot be higher than the low amount.

If the employee receives more than the high tip amount, then the employer can use a tip credit of the high tip amount.

New York City Tipped Employee 11+ currently have a low tip amount of $1.65 and a high tip amount of $2.70.

If the employee makes less than $1.65 in tips, then the employer must pay at least $11.00 in minimum wage for 2017.

If the employee makes between $1.65 and $2.70 in tips, then the employer can use a tip credit of $1.65 and pay the employee $9.35.

If the employee makes more than $2.70 in tips, the employer can use a $2.70 tip credit and pay the employee $8.30.

On December 31, 2017 the low tip amount will rise to $1.95. The high tip amount will also rise and become $3.20.

On December 31, 2018, the low tip amount will rise again and become $2.25. The high tip amount will become $3. 65.

New York City Tipped Employee fewer than 10 currently have a low tip amount of $1.60 and a high tip amount of $2.55.

On December 31, 2017 the low tip amount will raise to $1.80. The high tip amount will become $2.95.

On December 31, 2018, the low tip amount will become $2.05 and the high tip amount will move to $3.30.

Nassau, Suffolk & Westchester Counties Tipped Employees currently have a low tip credit of $1.05 and a high tip credit of $2.45.

On December 31, 2017, the low tip amount will become $1.65. The high tip amount will become $2.70.

On December 31, 2018, the low tip amount will rise to $1.80. The high tip amount will rise to $2.95.

Tipped Employees in the Remainder of New York State currently have a low tip amount of $1.45 and a high tip amount of $2.35.

On December 31, 2017, the low tip amount becomes $1.55 and the high tip amount becomes $2.55.

Starting December 31, 2018, the low tip amount rises to $1.65. The high tip amount goes to $2.70.

New York Hospitality Service Employees minimum wage includes not only a tip credit and a minimum cash wage, but also includes criteria under which an employer can apply the tip credit and pay the minimum cash wage, instead of paying the full minimum wage.

First, service employees in the hospitality industry must work more than 80% of their shift doing tipped work.

If an employee spends more than 2 hour or more than 20% of their shift doing non-tipped work, then the employer must pay that employee regular minimum wage.

In addition, tipped employees must receive at least a tip threshold for the employer to use the tip credit and pay the minimum cash wage instead of the regular minimum wage.

The tip threshold is broken into thresholds for employers over and under 10 employees and it is broken into resort and non-resort employees.

New York City Hospitality Service Employees 11+ currently have a cash wage of $9.15.

The employer can use a tip credit of $1.85. In order to use the tip credit, the tipped employee must have earned at least an average tip threshold of $2.40 in average tips per hour for the week.

Resort tipped employees must receive an average tipped threshold of $6.15 per hour for the week.

On December 31, 2017, the minimum cash wage goes up to $10.85 an hour with the tip credit rising to $2.15 an hour. The tip threshold moves up to $2.80. Employees must earn at least the tip threshold as an average amount of tips received for the week.

Report tipped employees must receive an an average tipped threshold of $7.30 per hour.

On December 31, 2018, the minimum cash wage goes up to $12.50 and includes a tip credit of $2.50.

Employees must average at least $3.25 in tips per hour for the week (tip threshold).

Resort employees must average at least $8.40 in hourly tips for the week (tip threshold).

New York City Hospitality Service Employees with 10 or Fewer have a current cash wage of $8.75.

Employers may count a tip credit of $1.75 if the employee meets a tip threshold of $2.30 in average tip earnings per hour for the week.

Resort employees have a tip threshold of $5.90 in average tips received for the week per hour.

On December 31, 2018, the minimum cash wage will increase to $10.00 with a tip credit of $2.00.

The tip threshold for restaurant and year-round hotel employees will become $2.60 an hour as an average tipped wage for the week.

Resort employees will see their tipped threshold go up to $6.75 as an average hourly earnings of tips received.

On December 31, 2018, the minimum cash wage rises to $11.25 with a tip credit of $2.25. Tip threshold becomes $2.95.

Resort employees’ tip threshold becomes $7.60 as an average amount of tips received per hour for the week.  

Nassau, Suffolk, & Winchester Counties Hospitality Service Employees have a minimum cash wage of $8.35 in 2017.

The tip credit is $1.65. These employees must earn an average of $2.15 in tips per hour for the week (tip threshold).

Resort employees must earn an average tip threshold of $8.10 per hour for the week.

On December 31, 2017, the minimum cash wage becomes $9.15 an hour. The tip credit an employer may claim becomes $1.85.

Tip threshold for the employee’s average hourly earnings in tips becomes $2.40.

Resort employees must earn an average of $6.15 in tips an hour (tip threshold).

On December 31, 2018, the minimum cash wage rises to $10.00 with a tip a tip credit of $2.00. Tip threshold rises to $2.60 for employees of restaurants and year-round hotels.

Remainder of New York State Hospitality Service Employees currently have a minimum cash wage of $8.10 with a tip credit of $1.60.

These employees must meet a tip threshold of $2.10. This is the minimum hourly average tip earnings the employee must reach for the week.

Resort employees must meet a tip threshold of at least $5.45 an hour.

On December 31, 2017, the minimum cash wage rises to $8.65 an hour with a tip credit off $1.75. The tip threshold becomes $2.25.

Resort employee’s tip threshold becomes $5.85.

On December 31, 2018, the minimum cash wage rises to $9.25 with a tip credit of $1.85. The tip threshold will be set at $2.40.

Resort employees’ tip threshold will rise to $6.25.

New York Hospitality Food Service Workers must receive a minimum wage.

Employers can use a tip credit and a minimum cash wage combined to meet the minimum wage.

However, employers can only use the tip credit if the employee has received at least that much in tips. Fast food employers cannot use a tip credit for their employees.

New York City Hospitality Food Service Employees 11+ Workers currently have a minimum wage of $11.00.

Employers can utilize a tip credit of $3.50 and pay a minimum cash wage of $7.50.

On December 31, 2017, the minimum wage rises to $13.00 with a tip credit of $4.35. That makes the new minimum cash wage at $8.65.

On December 31, 2018, the minimum wage will be $15.00. Minimum cash wage will become $10.00 with a tip credit of $5.00.

New York City Hospitality Food Service Employees 10- Workers have a minimum wage, in 2017, of $10.50 an hour.

The tip credit stands at $3.00 with a minimum cash wage of $7.50.

On December 31, 2017, the minimum wage will become $12.00 with a tip credit of $4.00 and a minimum cash wage of $8.00.

On December 31, 2018, the minimum wage becomes $13.50. Minimum cash wage will be $9.00 with a tip credit of $4.50.

Nassau, Suffolk, & Winchester Counties Hospitality Food Service Employees enjoy a minimum wage of $10.00.

The tip credit is at $2.50 with a minimum cash wage of $7.50.

On December 31, 2017, the minimum wage rises to $11.00. The tip credit will be $3.50 and the minimum cash wage will remain at $7.50.

On December 31, 2018, the minimum wage will rise to $12.00. The tip credit will rise to $4.00 an hour and the minimum cash wage will become $8.00.

Remainder of New York State Hospitality Food Service Employees have a minimum wage of $9.70.

Employers can claim a tip credit of $2.20 and pay a cash minimum wage of $7.50.

On December 31, 2017, the minimum wage becomes $10.40. The cash minimum wage stays at $7.50 with the tip credit rising to $2.90.

On December 31, 2017, the minimum wage rises again and becomes $11.10. The minimum cash wage remains at $7.50 with a new tip credit of $3.60.

Ohio Minimum Wage Changes

The Buckeye State has a current minimum wage of $8.15.

The wage changes on January 1, 2018 to $8.30. The minimum cash wage goes up from $4.08 to $4.15.

Tip credit adjusts from $4.07 in 2017 to $4.15 in 2018.

Oregon Minimum Wage Changes

The Beaver State has three minimum wage laws.

They are divided into a Standard minimum wage, a Urban minimum wage, and a Non-Urban minimum wage.

Oregon also does not allow for tip credit to tipped employees. Those employees must earn the regular minimum wage.

Standard Minimum Wage applies to the following counties:

  • Benton,
  • Clatsop,
  • Deschutes,
  • Columbia,
  • Hoover River,
  • Jackson,
  • Josephine,
  • Lane,
  • Linn,
  • Lincoln,
  • Marion,
  • Polk,
  • Tillamook,
  • Wasco, and
  • Yamhill.
  • Standard minimum wage is at $10.25. It adjusts on July 1, 2018 to $10.75.

Urban Minimum Wage covers Portland Metro counties. Counties in which some of the county is in the urban area include Clackamas, Multnomah, and Washington.

Employers in these counties who need to see if they must pay the Urban wage can plug their address in here.

Urban minimum wage goes up on July 1, 2018. It moves from the current wage of $11.25 to a new wage of $12.00.

Non-urban Minimum Wage covers employers in the following counties:

  • Baker,
  • Coos,
  • Crook,
  • Curry,
  • Douglas,
  • Gilliam,
  • Grant,
  • Harney,
  • Jefferson,
  • Klamath,
  • Lake,
  • Malheur,
  • Morrow,
  • Sherman,
  • Umatilla,
  • Union,
  • Wallowa, and
  • Wheeler

These employers must currently pay a minimum wage of $10.00 until July 1, 2018 when the wage changes. It will then become $10.50.

Rhode Island Minimum Wage Changes

The Ocean State sees a minimum wage increase on Jan. 1st.

The 2017 minimum wage was $9.60 and in 2018 the minimum wage will increase to $10.10.

Minimum cash wage remains the same at $3.89. However, the tip credit increases from $5.71 to $6.21.

South Dakota Minimum Wage Changes

The Mount Rushmore State currently has a minimum wage of $8.65 in 2017.

That wage increases to $8.85 on January 1, 2018. The minimum cash wage also increases from $4.325 to $4.425.

The maximum tip credit adjusts from $4.325 to $4.425.

Vermont Minimum Wage Changes

The Green Mountain State will see a minimum wage increase on January 1, 2017.

The rate will increase from $10.00 to $10.50.  Minimum cash wage will also increase and will move from $5.00 to $5.25.

The maximum tip credit changes from $5.00 to $5.25.

Washington State Minimum Wage Changes

The Evergreen State has both a statewide and local changes in minimum wage.

The State’s minimum wage changes on Jan. 1, 2018. It is currently at $11.00. The new minimum wage will be $11.50.

Washington does not allow tip credit or have a minimum cash wage.

SeaTac employers will see minimum wage increase from $15.34 to $15.64 on January 1st.

Seattle breaks the city’s minimum wage requirements into several divisions.

First it requires a separate minimum wage for large employers and small employers.

Large employers are considered those with 500 or more employees.

Small employers have are defined as those with under 500 employees.

Secondly, the employer has to pay a different minimum wage which depends on whether or not the employee receives health benefits.

Seattle Large Employer’s paid a minimum wage in 2017 of $15.00 to employees who did not receive medical benefits and $13.50 to employees who do receive medical benefits.

On January 1, 2018, the minimum wage changes to $15.45 to employees without benefits and $15.00 to employees with benefits.

Seattle Small Employer’s paid $11.00 to employees without benefits. In 2018, that minimum wage changes to $11.50.

Employees who receive either medical benefits or who get at least $2.50 in tips received a minimum wage of $13.00. In 2018, that wage changes to $14.00.

Tacoma minimum wage was $11.15 in 2017. On January 1, 2018, it will change to $12.00.

Let SwipeClock Help

Businesses across the United States often have not only various minimum wage laws to comply with, but also have conflicting sick leave and other leave laws.

Additionally, these businesses have to also comply with Federal Overtime Laws, the Family Medical Leave Act and any other national or local laws that are enacted.

SwipeClock provides a comprehensive array of workforce management and time tracking tools that can help businesses to more easily stay in compliance with local and national laws.

Records are effortlessly kept for years and accrual is automatically tracked and reported to employees according the state and city laws.

Additionally, with geo-timekeeping clocks, businesses can effortlessly track time worked in specific cities to ensure compliance.

About SwipeClock

SwipeClock is a leading provider of cloud-based integrated workforce management solutions that include automated time and attendance, advanced scheduling, and leave management capabilities.

The company’s products, including TimeWorksPlus, TimeSimplicity and Workforce Management Clock enable employers to manage their most important and expensive asset-employees-by transforming labor from a cost of doing business to a competitive advantage.

SwipeClock’s workforce management solutions are sold through over 850 partners that empower more than 26,000 businesses to lower labor costs, comply with regulatory mandates, and maximize their profits. For more information, please visit www.swipeclock.com.

Resources

DOL Cash wages

Oregon Urban Boundary

Oregon Min Wage

Seattle Min Wage

Written by Annemaria Duran. Last updated on 11/29, 2017

Get a Demo

Join the ranks of 30,000+ businesses that use SwipeClock Workforce Management products.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.